RSS

Daily Archives: April 5, 2013

As I ILLUSTRATE MY STORY {AIIMS} 7

Blutspritzer

 

“Take me to the hospital.” I was tensed and his expression wasn’t even helping matters.

He touched my shoulder. “You don’t want to panic unnecessarily.” He whispered.

I slapped his hands away, screaming. “Will you take me to the hospital!!!?”

“Is everything alright?” Trevor was shocked that we had spent a while in the bathroom and had both come out looking really scared.

Etim shook his head and snatched his keys. “It’s nothing, really. Jola needs her doctor.” The way he said it sounded like he was fed up with my stress. This one doesn’t even know anything yet.

Trevor’s eyes almost widened to his ears, and then he did the silly thing of checking my legs. My eyes went down south too, checking to see if anything was wrong. Nothing.

“Are you okay, Jola? Can you even walk?” Trev asked

I wasn’t even interested in talking. I wanted to shout out my husband who ought to be leading me out of the house instead of staring at Trevor who was clearly freaking out.

He put me into the car and my heart sunk even more. He didn’t say a word and that didn’t help matters. He just shut his eyes tightly, took a deep breath and finally drove out. Traffic was light but Etim drove carefully. I knew he was praying. I was as well. Then he called my doctor.

“We really don’t know but we are our way…. No… She didn’t check again.” He spied at me. “She just insists she has to see you.” He gave me the phone.

“Calm down Jola.” Dr Keller was my neighbour and gynaecologist. When I heard his voice, I cooled off. “I’m sure you are good. How far are you?”

“Almost almost. We are almost there.” I winced.

“Do you feel any pains?”

I sighed. “I don’t know what I feel. Honestly”

He chuckled and that made me a bit better. “You’ll be fine.”

Upon arriving the hospital, I was whisked away on a gurney. Somewhere deep in my heart, I knew I was exaggerating but I was truly scared. I watched Etim as I was being taken away. This boy can cry!

Some minutes later, Etim was called in. They ran a scan and the doctor was surprising quiet. Keller was quite a chatterbox. Etim was worried. So was I. The screen came on and the baby form was still there. Etim and I stared at the screen. We searched for the heartbeat and I’m sure mine too stopped for a while. But it came on, breathing strongly. Etim kissed me. Then my own breathing resumed. We were glad our baby was safe.

“There you go. Your baby is fine. But you need to relax more. Have you been eating?”

I nodded like a school child.

All other tests came out fine too. My BP was a bit high and I had dropped a few pounds which wasn’t good for the baby but besides that, I was cool. I couldn’t be more grateful.

The ride home was still quiet and very uncomfortable.

“Are you going to say something to me?” I asked.

“Are you back?” He smiled, studying my face with a serious expression. I laughed. He did too. Then he sighed.

“What?”

“I was terrified.”

“I know. Wasn’t that why you were crying?”

He just shook his head and concentrated on the road. I sighed too.

“You’ll be fine Joolz. I promise you.”

“I will.”
I started checking my underpants each time I used the bathroom; even when I didn’t. I was paranoid. In fact it was as if it stared back at me and was even whiter. We had dinner and just cuddled until we slept. There were still no weird looking stains when I woke. None the next day, and then the next and then I was okay for the whole of the week.

Exactly a week after the doctor’s check-up, Etim and I ordered Chinese. I really craved for it and he made sure I ate just a little and had almost a jug of water. Truth is he took a cup for himself and a jug for me. We ate, talked and even spoke to MIL. He carried me in after he had cleaned me up and then we slept.

I’m not sure of how long we had slept, but I knew I hadn’t had enough sleep and he was shaking me awake already, screaming.

“Oh my God, you’re bleeding, Jola wake up”.

Immediately I opened my eyes, looked on the bed and started crying…

It is red Etim, it is RED!!!!!!! !!!

AmOy

Photo by transformedblog.com

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

 
Literary Everything

...because we love books.

Creative Pixtures

My passion shared, from me to you.

RITA LOLLY'S Blog

Smile! For every speech that Life has to offer, You will get it from my blog!

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Z Channel

where art meets life

freedombyanymeans

less talk; more action

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

9jafeminista

Nigerian, Feminist, Queer

Pearls & Oysters

Relax. Read. Recommend

Nevertoobusytowrite

A Writing Website

Chinma Eke's Blog

Random Thoughts, Stories, HR, Management,Beauty, Fashion, etc

Margari Aziza

Reflections on the Intersection of Religion, Race, and Gender

Love, InshAllah

Fresh Perspectives on Love

From My Mind to the Page

A place to share all the stories and characters struggling to get out of my head and into a reality of their own!

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com. Check out www.seunodukoya.com

One Word More

one word at a time

The Overstand Podcast

"Overstand the definition, then write your own."

Real Life Fantasies

it's all in my head

Nigerian Newcomer

two truths, a lie, and some misadventures