RSS

Daily Archives: April 29, 2013

CAUGHT IN THE ACT

jimmy_choo_shoes_s3_02

He sat outside the house, a stick which had been chewed half-way hung in between his dry lips, spittle sat at the corners of his mouth as he drove the stick deeper into his mouth, sticking out his tongue to do the same work on. He sucked up phlegm from all regions of his mouth and gathered momentum to spit it out. Woe betide anyone it touched. Its effect will be just as disastrous as one who had been bathed with acid. Unfortunately, Bisoye chose that time to leave home for work. Both their eyes met, held and travelled to the front of her skirt, her crisp grey skirt suit which now bore the thick phlegm, with some of it hanging down and dropping to her shining Jimmy Choos. Her jaw clenched as she balled her fist. It was a Monday morning. Why did he have to choose today to display his madness?

Otunba’s chewing stick hadn’t stopped its work. All he did was spy at her for a fraction of a second and continued. She took a roundabout turn and walked back into her apartment. It was a miracle her husband had been called on an emergency earlier that morning. The house was so quiet, at least her apartment. She had loved the home when they bought it two years ago. Though she’d have preferred something more private, like a duplex or even a bungalow, she hadn’t minded the block of flats. It was decent and they moved in right after they married. It was her loneliness that had brought her trouble with Otunba. Otunba saw himself as some kind of landlord because he bought the first flat and five others which he placed for rent.

 

Right there in the living room, making a mental note never to wear the clothes again, Bisoye got out of the soiled clothes and picked up her phone. She called in sick at the advertising agency she worked as a client-service officer and then flung her phone on the table to lay on the couch in her red, lacy two-piece. The one Bode had bought and Kolade loved to rip apart when they made love. She lay, facing the ceramic ceiling, just like the day it had all started.

 

It was after the wedding and Bode had wanted them to honeymoon in the UK but as usual, work had come before her so they’d had to cancel. She couldn’t face up to her friends so she just decided to turn off her phone for the period. It had initially seemed okay marrying a neurosurgeon but she hadn’t known it could ever get so lonely. Bode was a lot caring and attentive when they were dating than now when they were ‘happily married’. His phone never stopped ringing, like he was the only neurosurgeon in the Nigeria. Well, they weren’t many. That night, Bode had just returned tired from work. She had fed him and they just lay there in the living room. The mood had seemed right and they had started getting out of their clothes until the phone rang. One thing she was certain about was that he’d go into a mad rush of love making before he jets out, but he didn’t. He just got up, his glorious body glistening in the candle light, got into his clothes and left after a murmured apology. After he had had her engine revved up and running!

She had sat in the balcony, bent on drinking herself to stupor. There were no friends to call-she was still on the pretence of being in the UK- no one to talk to and not a friendly neighbour anywhere around. She felt all alone until she saw a silhouetted figure move from the balcony besides theirs. There was a red light swinging from up in the air and falling to its sides. It was a male and he was smoking. She strained to see if she could get a clearer picture of him for she didn’t know any neighbours when he caught her movement. He moved towards the banister. That was the closest he could get. She got up towards him, moving to her too.

“Hi”

She nodded, watching as his eyes bored into her night wear, she had just donned it on, completely nude beneath. If his hands could go further, they could have attacked her with venom, because her nipples rose wantonly. He was shirtless, a jeans trouser riding down his waist. He reached out his hands, they barely brushed hers but the effect was electrifying. She couldn’t quite remember if they had spoken or words had been superfluous, all she could recollect in her drunken state was his hard, taut body stretched over hers like wrung wire.

“Invite me in.”

The distance from the balcony to the main entrance was far enough for her to get back to her senses but all rational thoughts eluded her.

There was no room for second thoughts, no kisses, no foreplays. They both needed sex and they gave heavily. And she thought her husband was gorgeous! Kolade had a body made for women to stare, salivate and shiver. They had sex like she had never had in her life.

“I’m so sorry we both got carried away.”

Reality had dawned and the shame was unbearable. He picked his trousers, the one she had assisted him in flinging to a corner of her living room!

He looked from her to the wedding photo frame. “My name is Kolade. I’m sorry I don’t make a habit of sleeping with married women but…”

“Get out!”

She had slammed the door just as he put his foot out and she cried, cried for her recklessness.

But it hadn’t ended there. Kolade came back for more and stupid as she was she needed the attention, the way his eyes made love to her, his touch which was as delicate as porcelain and his kind words. He was separated from his wife, not legally, but bottom-line was he was an unhappy, lonely man who convinced her till she began seeing herself as unhappy too even though she lacked for nothing and would have been happier but for Bode’s crazy schedules. It became so bad, that Kolade knew when Bode left home. He slipped in almost immediately; tearing at their clothes until that eventful day she had been stupid not to have bolted the door and Otunba had walked in on them, right there in the living room. He made sure he made eye contact with them both before apologising on entering the wrong apartment! For heaven’s sake it wasn’t a face-II-face house where you could mistakenly enter someone else’s room. But ever since then, it had been hell for her and well Kolade too because it was his wife who had bought the apartment and she was Otunba’s niece. She was on a course in the US and was back. They weren’t even separated.

If Otunba tried blackmailing Bisoye, perhaps it would help rather than the public frustrations he meted out on her; like spitting on her, pouring water on her and all.

Kolade rushed into her apartment one evening just as Bode left the house; he was in a state, saying Otunba claimed he couldn’t hold it up anymore. He was being a traitor holding that kind of information. He wanted her to act like nothing of the sort had happened, should Otunba spill, but even at that it would take a miracle not to be out of her marriage barely a year after they just married. But she hoped, prayed and somehow waited for Otunba’s next mischief. She hadn’t seen Kolade too and it was already four days after he had come to hint her on the development.

Bode got home late after work. The moment she opened the door for him and saw his face, she knew something was wrong. Her insides took an elevator ride when Bode nodded his head and didn’t respond to her greetings. The chair made a hissing noise as he fell into it.

“I take it you didn’t hear Otunba was killed this morning? It must have been some hired-assassins. His head was bashed-in with a pole.”

That was enough for her to collapse, which she did.

 

#

Oyster

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

AS I ILLUSTRATE MY STORY {AIIMS}… 15

mub

The first thing I saw when he came on screen was skin.  I mean, the much chiselled washboard abs. Semirah screamed. I changed the direction of the laptop.
“Babe?” I whispered.
“What was that? What’s happening? Heh Jola!” She shook her head in warning, lifted Itoro and marched out.
I sighed looking around like a thief before resuming position in front of the laptop. DS was seated drinking from a cup. He had donned on a shirt. He wasn’t looking weird or funny. He may not have known sef that I had seen him. A smile played on his face and I knew I had appeared on his screen.
“Hey you.” He smiled waving some more. His hard features softening. “I was beginning to wonder if anyone was home.”
“Hey, what’s up?” I tried steadying my breath. Yes I saw Etim’s midsection every day, which I must say is a lot more appealing to the eye that DS’s yet it was taking me time recovering from the shock.

“Are you alone?”
I frowned in defensive, wrinkling my nose. “Why?”
He moved his face closer to the screen. “Is he home? Are you there alone?”

“No. He’s at work!”
First he frowned and then burst into laughter.
“What work?”
I was confused. Is Etim not working?
“I meant Itoro! My god son?” He emphasized. “Can I see him please?” he drawled.
I heaved trying on a fake smile. “Oh sure!”
As if on cue, Semirah spied in. I signalled at her to bring him. She stayed off the screen while placing Itoro in my hands.
“Wow!!!” DS cooed. “He’s adorable. Oh! You have a help already?”
“Da’m buroo ba! Da’n iska kawai.” Semirah cursed.
“Help? Don’t be silly DS, that’s Semirah helping out.”
“Oh, her? Good.” His face was slightly distorted. I knew he had heard her.

Semirah gave a loud hiss and walked past the screen so DS could see the disgust her face wore. He couldn’t be less bothered as he kept looking at my son. “Wow, I think he looks more like Etim.” Itoro gave a loud shriek and then smiled. “Oh, that is your smile. This is a new you I’m seeing and motherhood sure suits you. “

“Thanks. When are you paying us a visit? It’s been a while, you know?”

“Hmmm…” Semirah muttered in warning. I spied at her.

He smiled too rolling his eyes. He just did not like Semirah.

“I’ll come. You know we bought the Apollo, my company. I’ve moved offices now to Madison.”

“Oh cool. Very tasking now, eh?”

“You don’t wanna know. How’s work? How long more do you have for your on maternity leave? Or are you quitting work altogether?”

Itoro started crying.

“Look at his mouth.”

“Hey Deji, can we chat later? I need to feed him.”

“Can’t you feed him whilst we chat?”

“Dude, I’m breastfeeding.”

“And?”

“And you are her husband, right? Since you demand she exposes her breasts to you?”

“Look Semirah,” DS was trying to say. Too late. Semirah shut the laptop.

“You best be careful. There’s nothing called ‘friend’ in a man who is unashamedly attracted to you. All he does is ogle at you. He even steals glances at you every time. Even in Etim’s presence and you know it. I pity you.”

“What are you saying? Can you even hear the words coming out of your own mouth? There’s no attraction. That’d be foolish. DS is Etim’s best friend. He’s also my friend. You need to cut him some slack.”

“Honestly? There’s anyone still so naïve? Can’t you just take time out and see what I see?”

I heaved. Itoro wasn’t concentrating any more. He kept looking from me to Semirah so we just shut it.

“Eat my dear.” She caressed his eye brows. “Someday, we hope your mum understands.”

I rolled my eyes.

My mother came in weeks later. I couldn’t have been happier and relived to see her. I even got emotional and cried. She was finally around and she was really spoiling me. She said breast-feeding Itoro reminded her of when she had Tofat my younger brother. I couldn’t remember sleeping with so much ease since we returned from the hospital. Itoro had a healthy appetite just like his dad and no sooner, breast milk didn’t suffice, so mum advised we introduced bottle. The first time he ate it, he slept so soundly, mummy and I kept going to check on him at intervals, to make sure he was still breathing. He was also adding some pounds too. Tough and strong young man.  And very cuddly too.

None can honestly match one’s mother. My mum? Exceptional! She made me take a break and did all the cooking. Like Etim, she ate fresh too. That meant she did all the cooking from the scratch. breakfast, lunch and dinner. She also bonded with Itoro during bathing and feeding times. He’ll start to cry when he’s being prepped for his bath but then mum will launch into some beautiful songs and with soap suds all over his face and body, he’ll giggle. The day I tried to give him a bath, the moment he didn’t hear any songs, we had a really rough time bathing. My dad was almost jealous calling a bit too regularly. He said mum was the only one having the fun. He’ll call and hang on for minutes waiting for Itoro to make at least one sound. Daddy called him Mofe.  Tofat was also hoping to visit soon. He also was anxious to see his nephew whom he believed looked like him.

After giving mum a hint of what I had been going through, she promised to host Semirah in Lagos when she got back. She couldn’t thank her enough for her assistance and kept praying for her. We insisted on dropping her off at the airport even though she wanted to take a cab. It was quite emotional for me seeing her leave. She was giving me the strange look seeing me cry. She didn’t understand why I was crying. Her pretty big brown eyes were dry.

“How I’ll miss you Aahil?” She turned to look at him in his seat. Mum sat beside him while Semirah was with me in front. “Will you come to Nigeria to see me? I live in Abuja o.”

Aa waa. He’ll surely come. Iwo lo shey ju. I can’t even thank you enough.”

“I’ll miss you to mummy. Kai Jola, so I’ll miss seeing what Bundo’s baby will look like.”

I looked at her shock. “Na wa for you oh Semirah, so I don’t deserve to be missed?”

“I will miss you naw. It’s just this crying that’s making me feel uncomfortable. So I decided to shut it.”

When we got to the airport and her flight was announced, she hugged and kissed Itoro as scurried off. I shook my head registering her weirdness and then she ran back like a school kid holding me very tight and kissing my cheeks. Her face was wet. Mummy kept nodding her head, hiding her face.

“Be good to yourself dear.” She whispered and walked off.  The drive back home was very silent but reflective. Itoro may have guessed and kept still. He wasn’t asleep. He was just very quiet as we drove back home. After lunch, mum went in with Itoro. I cleaned the apartment and the kitchen up. By the time I was done, I didn’t hear a sound from the room. Were they asleep? I had intended strapping Itoro into a carrier and taking a walk with him down the road, so mum can have some free time, when my phone rang.

Unknown number. “Hello?”

“Jola!” She broke into tears. Oh no! Let it not be what I’m thinking

“What happened? Why’re you crying Bundo?”

“It’s Femi o.” She wailed…

Goodness!!!

#

AmOy

Photo by Oyster

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

 
Literary Everything

...because we love books.

Creative Pixtures

My passion shared, from me to you.

RITA LOLLY'S Blog

Smile! For every speech that Life has to offer, You will get it from my blog!

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Z Channel

where art meets life

freedombyanymeans

less talk; more action

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

9jafeminista

Nigerian, Feminist, Queer

Pearls & Oysters

Relax. Read. Recommend

Nevertoobusytowrite

A Writing Website

Chinma Eke's Blog

Random Thoughts, Stories, HR, Management,Beauty, Fashion, etc

Margari Aziza

Reflections on the Intersection of Religion, Race, and Gender

Love, InshAllah

Fresh Perspectives on Love

From My Mind to the Page

A place to share all the stories and characters struggling to get out of my head and into a reality of their own!

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com. Check out www.seunodukoya.com

One Word More

one word at a time

The Overstand Podcast

"Overstand the definition, then write your own."

Real Life Fantasies

it's all in my head

Nigerian Newcomer

two truths, a lie, and some misadventures