RSS

Daily Archives: April 23, 2013

LARA DANIELS— ONE FINE WRITER!!!

Lara Daniels is a beautiful writer. I hope you enjoy this poignant piece as much as I did.

A BEAUTIFUL MIND

african-girl

Did you see me yesterday? Did you at least hear about me? I was the girl dancing in the village square. Yes; the naked girl dancing in the village square.  I don’t know how it started, but one moment, I was so sad that I thought I’d take my own life. Just when the sadness became too much to bear, I suddenly felt happy. Too happy.  I tore my clothes, ran to the square, and began to dance. I danced so well, even though there were no beating drums; no tunes from the harmonica.  The children, they laughed at me as they passed by. The adults shook their heads, some in pity; others with disgust.  But I didn’t care. Some young men, they were so mean, they threw earth at me and laughed as they did. But I paid them no mind. I danced and sweated.  I danced and danced and danced.  Oh, how I danced.

My parents, they found me in the village square. They’d been looking for me, they said. But I don’t think they looked that well because if they did, they would have found me…right there in the center of the village. I was tired from all my dancing and I sat on a rock. Mama cried when she saw me. Papa, he had no words. His lips thinned and I knew he was angry.  Ashamed, perhaps. I don’t know why he was angry. I don’t know why he was ashamed. I didn’t care either. All that mattered was that I’d danced in the village square.

They took me back to our house and washed me with soap and water. My parents clothed me and mama said, “You are not to leave the house again.”

“But why, Mama?” I asked.

Mama shook her head and said, “You’re sick, child. It’s best you stay inside the house and get better.”

I touched my forehead. It wasn’t hot. I shook my arms and my legs. They moved.

“I don’t’ feel sick Mama,” I said.

Mama shook her head. “Your sickness is a strange one, my daughter. It’s best you stay in the house from now on so you can get better.  Are you thirsty?”

“Yes.”

Mama walked away and I sat down on my mat, wondering about what she’d said. That was when I saw him: the yellow man with the yellow hat, holding a yellow stick.

I should have been afraid, for I’d never seen him before. But he smiled at me and I smiled back, and I knew there was nothing to be frightened of.

“You are the girl that danced in the village square.”

It wasn’t a question, but still, I nodded. “They say I have a strange sickness. My father won’t talk to me, and my mother doesn’t want me going outside to play again.”

The man in the yellow hat, he looked sad, just like my mother had been. “It’s not a sickness,” he said.

“It’s not?” I said.

“To ordinary people, it’s a sickness, but to people like me, it’s not.”

“I don’t understand,” I said.

“The gods have your mind, my daughter,” he replied.  “And from now on, you will see things that ordinary eyes cannot see, and hear things ordinary ears cannot hear. In ancient times, the forefathers would have made you a priestess, serving only the gods of our land.”

Mama walked in with a cup of water. She walked past the man with the yellow hat.

“What?” Mama said, as she gave me the water to drink.

“Don’t you see him?” I asked, downing the water.

“Who?”

I pointed to the man. “This man. This man standing here.”

“Which man?”

I pointed again, but Mama, she just shook her head and looked at me, her eyes full of questions.

“There’s nobody there,” she finally said.  Her voice was very quiet.

The yellow man winked at me. “I told you. You can now see things that nobody can see and hear things that nobody can hear.”

“Are you a ghost?” I asked.

“I’m not a ghost,” Mama answered.  “I’m here. I’m your mother.”

“I wasn’t talking to you mama,” I said. “I’m talking to the yellow man in the yellow hat.”

The yellow man gave me a sympathetic smile. I’m not sure who he pitied…me or mama. He walked out the door.

“Mama,” I looked up to my mother’s face. “I’m not sick.”

Mama raised an eyebrow. “You are not?”

“The yellow man says I have a mind that belongs to the gods. I see things you cannot see and I hear things you cannot hear. “

Mama stared at me for a moment, collected the cup from my hand, and walked to the door. “It’s called madness, my daughter; a very strange kind of sickness.”

Then, she left me to myself and bolted the door after her.

#

lara

Lara’s Notes:

My pen name is Lara Daniels and I am a published author of African romance suspense novels and some other not-so-romantic fictional works. I was born and raised in Nigeria where I read my first romantic fiction at about age 9 or 10. I got hooked! I also wrote my first fictional work at around that time. I relocated to the United States some years later, and in 2009, I published my very first novel! When I’m not writing, I’m busy playing mom to my three rambunctious kids, and wife to the love of my life.  At other times, you’ll catch me as a Nurse in some health care facility in Texas.

I just finished watching one of my favorite movies – A Beautiful Mind -starring Russell Crowe. If you haven’t seen this movie, you should.  For those who have, it is a known fact that our perspective on health, more so mental health, is influenced by our cultural beliefs.  In many cultures, say mine, for example, people with mental health disorders, such as schizophrenia and bipolar, are generally grouped under one heading – madness.  Some people, if not most, may even say these conditions are caused by demonic possession.  Well, demonic or not, I found myself writing the short story you’ve just read above. A Beautiful Mind is just like the poignant movie.

I hope you enjoyed reading. Find more of my stories on http://laradanielswrites.com/

You bet!!!

Some books by Lara…

lessons-in-love-2  omo mum

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

AS I ILLUSTRATE MY STORY {AIIMS}… 14

IT

I threw on a boubou as I carefully walked down the stairs. The look on my face was exceptional. I was badly tensed and my boobs ached for a feed.

“Where is the grandpa?” there was no one from my vantage point of view. She pointed to the loveseat facing the television. I walked down to the landing. An elderly man sat in the middle of my living room a little too interested on the programme on TV. One proper glance at him and I screamed.

“Oh my, Semirah, why did you let him in? Oh no…..”

Semirah, stuttered. “But I, I just, he mentioned your name. He called ‘Remi’, so I assumed he must be family.

All the while, he didn’t flinch from the TV programme.

“But didn’t I tell you about him? “ I dragged her to me out of ear shot.

“Who, what are you talking about?” She was confused

It then occurred to me that I hadn’t told anyone besides Etim.

I charged towards him nodding my head in greeting.

His head finally sprang up, his face breaking into a smile. “Jolaade, bawo ni, eku ewu omo o. Won ni ki’n wa ba e soro nipa ikomo, b’o se ma se, ki’n de gbadura fun omo naa.  Mo bayin yo o. Etimu nko?”  I was asked to come see you concerning the naming ceremony arrangement and of course to come pray for you.

My jaw dropped. “Ehn?”

“Mo ni oko e nko?” he persisted

“Etim? Ko si’nle sir.”

“Ko buru, ma duro de. “

“Oti travel fun ise e laro yi, o di next week ko to de. Nitori e l’ase so loruko ni hospital.” He’s travelled on an official assignment. It’s the reason we named the child in the hospital.

Ko buru. Omo naa da, ki’n gbadura fun.  It’s alright. Where is the child, let me pray for him.”

Oh God! Semirah was opposite of me dramatizing, indicating sleep. “O’n sun sir. Ko sun lati aana, mi o ni fe ji. E ma binu sir. He hasn’t slept since yesterday and I wouldn’t want to wake him.

“Ko buru, bosi ibi ki’n gbadura fun e. Ha! Okay, you come here let me pray for you.” He smiled waiting for another excuse. I had plenty.

I walked and sat at the chair next to him, he wanted me to kneel down.

“Mi o le kun le sir, mo ni operation, so mi o ni le bere. I had an operation so it’s hard for me to kneel.”

“Aawwuuuuu, ha pele. Remi o so eleyi fun mi. ko buru, je’n gbadura fun e be. Oh, really? MIL didn’t mention that to me”

All through the prayers, I kept saying blood of Jesus. I didn’t offer him anything so he could leave.

Mo fe try ki’n get some sleep. Mi o ti sun daadaa lati ijo yi.” He kept sizing me up, I did same whispering prayers.

“Okay. Ko si problem.”

My son had to still be sleeping as I hadn’t heard one sound from upstairs. What was this man doing in the States gan! He then brought out a small plastic bottle from his buba and gave it to me.

“Wa mu eleyi for three days. It’ll help you in your milk production.”

Like seriously? Should I and this man even be talking milk anything? Did I tell him, I was lacking in milk production? Am I a cow?”

Thankfully, he put it on the table and without putting up a fuss, he left.

I went up to join Semirah and my son. Surprisingly, he was awake. I don’t know how Semirah did it that he hadn’t cried even though he was hungry. She had been entertaining him with a musical book. I fit the nipple into his mouth and my son suckled.

“Geez!” I winced trying to swallow the pain

“Saanu.”

I quickly gave her the gist. And she was wide-eyed in shock.

“Haaa!!! All this and you kept it to yourself? So the herbalist isn’t family? Has he gone? She made to move out.  I could have asked him for some portion to use on Bundo.”

“Semirah! Bundo? That’s an unfair thing to say.”

“Why not?” Itoro stopped sucking and looked at Semirah smiling. He was gaining some impressive pounds. This one will eat like his father. His face was changing by the day, looking like different members of the family on different days.

“You see? Aahil agrees with me on this one. That girl must disappear. You won’t be changing for him? You want yo be feeding him with just this one? I’m sorry for you. Wait until it doesn’t equal.” We laughed. So I turned him over to have some more. He seemed to be more interested in Semirah than the food so I knew he had had enough. Sorry took him to burp and I picked my phone which was vibrating. I’ve had to revert to vibrate so I don’t wake or scare Itoro from his sleep.

“Hello Jola.” Deep, resonant voice. No mistake. It was DS.

“Hello Deji.”

Semirah turned to me. I gave her the innocent look as I walked out. Etim was just saying he hadn’t heard from him, even after he had dropped two messages on the recent birth.

“Congrats. I got Etim’s message but I was busy.” It didn’t sound true.  Would you please come on Skype?”

“In a bit.”

“Hmn… so this thing has graduated to Skype now.” Semirah was looking at me disgustedly. Why does he want to see you on Skype? To check for any body-changes?”

“Semirah, he wants to see the baby and not me. He’s the godfather you know”

“That’s how it starts…”

And then the screen came on…

 

AmOy

Photo by Hello Beautiful.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

 
Literary Everything

...because we love books.

Creative Pixtures

My passion shared, from me to you.

RITA LOLLY'S Blog

Smile! For every speech that Life has to offer, You will get it from my blog!

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

The Z Channel

where art meets life

freedombyanymeans

less talk; more action

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

9jafeminista

Nigerian, Feminist, Queer

Pearls & Oysters

Relax. Read. Recommend

Nevertoobusytowrite

A Writing Website

Chinma Eke's Blog

Random Thoughts, Stories, HR, Management,Beauty, Fashion, etc

Margari Aziza

Reflections on the Intersection of Religion, Race, and Gender

Love, InshAllah

Fresh Perspectives on Love

From My Mind to the Page

A place to share all the stories and characters struggling to get out of my head and into a reality of their own!

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com. Check out www.seunodukoya.com

One Word More

one word at a time

The Overstand Podcast

"Overstand the definition, then write your own."

Real Life Fantasies

it's all in my head

Nigerian Newcomer

two truths, a lie, and some misadventures